Visit of La Puisaye

La Puisaye

120-km tour

The medieval worksite of Guédelon, The farm of the castle of Saint-Fargeau and Boutissaint Park.

Toucy

At the very heart of La Puisaye, on the banks of the Ouanne, the hometown of renowned lexicographer Pierre Larousse boasts old 16th- and 17th-century houses and an odd church resting against 12th-century fortifications. A Saturday morning visit is a must, because of the picturesque market where all of Puisaye gathers to offer fine products of the soil.


Saint Sauveur en Puisaye - The Colette Museum

Established in the Castle of Saint-Sauveur-en-Puisaye, the native village of Sidonie-Gabrielle Colette (1873-1954), the Colette Museum offers a literary stroll through the writer’s universe. An impressive collection of photos of Colette, at different times of her tumultuous life, show the various sides of her character.

To complete the visit, see the collections of the author’s personal belongings and the reconstitution of the living room and bedroom of his apartment at the Palais Royal.
Open from 1 April to 30 October : daily, from 10 h to 18 h, except on Tuesdays;
Open from November to March: weekends and holidays, from 14 h to 18 h;
The Museum is closed in December and January
Open during school holidays (all zones) : daily, from 14 h to 18 h, except on Sundays.

Treigny, The castle of Guédelon

A medieval adventure in the 21st Century: the Builder-Companions of Puisaye are erecting a stronghold in strict compliance with 12th-Century conditions and techniques: a fantastic worksite whch was launched in 1997 and will take 20 years to complete.
Come and immerse yourself in the medieval atmosphere of this exceptional site, and discover a unique universe. Meet the carpenters, the quarrymen, the blacksmiths, the lumbermen, the basket-weavers and other labourers, who will be glad to explain their know-how.
Open from 12 March to 4 November, Mondays to Sundays from 10 h to 17:30 h, except on Wednesdays

Saint-Fargeau

This castle (15th and 17th centuries), which is shaped like an immense pentagon of pink bricks surrounding an indoor court built by Le Vau, was owned by such famous historical figures as Jacques Cœur and Miss Monpensier, known as La Grande Demoiselle. He was also the birthplace of the maternal side of Académie-member Jean d’Ormesson, who recalls it to some length in his novel, Au plaisir de Dieu (At God’s pleasure).
Open from 1 April to 11 November, daily, from 10 h to 12 h and 14 h to 18 h.
Take your children on a visit to the nearby Castle farm.

Boutissaint

A rare setting: 400 ha of beech and oak seedling forests, prairies, ponds, pure springs, where scores of stags, does and deer roam freely in their natural habitat, while  some 400 boars, bison and mouflon sheep live in enclosed areas. The best time to approach the animals in this, France’s first natural reserve, is early the morning or late in the afternoon.
Open from 1 February to 15 November, daily, from 8 h to 20 h (ticket office closes at 18:30 h).

Jean Michel Lorain

Propos de Chef

Jean Michel Lorain

Relais & chateaux
Relais & Châteaux La Côte Saint Jacques - Jean-Michel Lorain - Tel : +33 (0)3.86.62.09.70 - Fax +33 (0)3.86.91.49.70
14, Faubourg de Paris, 89300 JOIGNY - FRANCE - Admin - Normadmin - Normaweb